“Perfecting Loneliness”

In late 2002 I went into Plan 9 Records in RVA and checked out the CDs they were recommending on their wall of new releases.

Back in the day you could request one of the CDs, take it to a CD player with an attached pair of headphones, and listen to it to decide whether you wanted to buy it.

Having recently been hired by DS, for the first time in my life I had a bit of extra scratch in my pocket. So, after listening to a few minutes of this CD from a band I’d never heard of, I decided it was good enough to purchase.

I was like that.

I’d listen for a few minutes and make an immediate decision, hoping I would be discovering a band I’d love.

A lot of times they turned out to be duds, but this one was one of the best decisions I ever made.

Per Wikipedia:

Perfecting Loneliness is the third and final studio album by American rock band Jets to Brazil. Vocalist/guitarist Blake Schwarzenbach spent six weeks at his mother’s farm in Nova Scotia, Canada, where he worked on new material. By the fall of 2003, less than a year after the release of Perfecting Loneliness, the band broke up for unspecified reasons.”

For some reason I just absolutely LOVE this album.

A lot of it probably has to do with the fact that I had finally achieved my goal of obtaining the career I wanted and was feeling much less stress and depression. It also helps that the music and lyrics are fantastic.

Having a wild hair up my ass, one day I decided to try and find the guy who designed the album’s amazing artwork, Glenn Maryansky. I discovered his LinkedIn profile and reached out to him.

Below is a sampling of our conversation:

Me:

“Glenn, Weird question: Been a big fan of Jets To Brazil ever since I gave “Perfecting Loneliness” a spin on the old CD player at Plan 9 Records in Richmond in 2002. Been a huge fan since. (My kids grew up on “Wish List.”) Apparently, you designed the cover. I would love to learn more. Thanks!”


Glenn:

“Hey Jay Bobb, yes I did design the cover. My brother was the second guitar player on all but the first LP. That cover came about when he found an old book on the sidewalk with that as the back cover art. If you look at their Instagram, he recently posted a photo of the actual book which still resides in my basement. Do you still live in Richmond? My cousin lives there and her husband played in Worn in Red, maybe you know them?”

Me:

“Great cover. I had a t-shirt made with it on it.  Discovered the band and Blake when that album came out. I have it on LP and consider it a classic. I will look on Instagram. Can you tell me the name of the book? My parents and my in-laws still live in Richmond. We visit very often. Thanks for designing what I consider one of the coolest rock album covers of all time.”

Glenn:

“Hi Jay Bobb! That means a lot to me. It’s one of my favorite covers iced designed as well, but always nice to hear what it means to others. I will have to get the book out to remember the name. I’ll look for it today. Also, does your LP have a poster in it. If not I will see if I have any extras. Jade Tree made a limited full size poster for one pressing on nice uncoated paper stock. I’ll hit you up later with book name and let you know if I have an extra posted.”

Me:

“That would be amazing. Thank you.  If you’re able to find one I vow to have it framed and set in a place of honor in my office!

That JTB album and cover are one of my favorites of all time. It came out of nowhere for me.

Rare for a CD (at that era) to be that good from beginning to end, and deep as well. I remember once out running on the Washington & Old Dominion trail (rails to trail) outside of my then hometown of Vienna, Virginia and the song “Perfecting Loneliness” came on and I was absolutely entranced by the close out with the radio chatter from the astronauts overplaying the guitar led outro.

“The moon is essentially gray.”

That line absolutely haunts me.

And I played “Wish List” so many times on road trips with my family that to this day my kids know all the lyrics.

Over ten years ago I began searching for a JTB t-shirt. But they were no longer in stock as the band had broken up. So after trying and trying, I finally went to one of those custom t-shirt Internet places and made my very first custom t-shirt (this was before they really started checking against licensing and copyrights – sorry!). 

My kids know what the shirt means but no one else has ever asked me or recognized it. Regardless, I love it. I think it’s pretty damn cool.

Thanks again! Pleasure speaking with you.

P.S.

As I typed this, “I Typed For Miles” from JTB’s “Orange Rhyming Dictionary” came on. Perfect.”


Glenn:

“Amazing, I will share your story and the tee pic with my brother. He will love it.”

LINK



Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started