The Golden Isles, Georgia (2016)

When we moved here everybody we talked to, including the Realtor (TM), told us how hurricanes never hit The Golden Isles because of The Atlantic Bight and the way the East Coast of the U.S. bent inward and how we were actually at the same longitude as Sandusky, Ohio and blah blah blah.

And not nine months after we moved here we’re being told there’s a hurricane coming our way and we need to leave. And I reserved a room in a hotel three hours from here but then cancelled it because my wife said we’d be fine, but 36 hours later they issued a mandatory evacuation order and then she decided we needed to leave and now the closest hotel for four kids, two dogs, and two birds was in Auburn (“War Eagle”), Alabama – five hours west of here.

So we spent two nights in the hinterland of Alabama and I got to watch VT defeat UNC during a hurricane on my laptop, then we spent a night in Valdosta, before coming back and spending a night in Brunswick.

Despite it having been multiple days since the hurricane hit, local officials would not let us back into our home.

It took five days before we could get back on the island, and when we did finally arrive, our house was beyond perfect. Structurally intact, and the lawn looked amazing.

As it turned out, the winds blew from east to west and all of the major damage was inland, not on the marsh where we lived.

However, a large tree went down in my former neighbor’s yard blocking their driveway, so, having a chainsaw and nothing better to do while I waited for them to arrive, I began chopping it up and making their home habitable.

That’s when this picture was taken.

I work hard for the money.

South Coffeyville, Oklahoma (1976)

Approximate date.

This appears to be a visit to my Great Uncle Woodrow Wilson (Dode) Davis’ home.

He helped to raise my Dad and help his sister, my Grandma Nola, after my Grandfather went away.

I only realized or learned about that decades later.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started