Camp Toccoa, Georgia (2019)

From FB:

“Camp Toccoa, where four regiments of the 101st Airborne trained before WWII, including the 506th as made famous in ‘Band of Brothers.’

Sacred ground and a real honor to come here.”

Port of Spain, Trinidad (2009)

From FB:

“I kept seeing memories of this trip popping up and realized I’d removed a lot of the pics when I got chastised by a former boss for showing me having too much fun at the government’s expense. My friend took this photo on a cruise ship being used as a temporary hotel for all the guests and dignitaries in Port of Spain. This was the first night after POTUS and his lower level functionaries had arrived. For all intents and purposes our job was over until they left several days later.


Hence the frivolity…”

Empire Range, Panama (1994)

My first Platoon Sergeant, Staff Sergeant Michael “Action” Jackson, trying to relax in the heat and humidity on the side of the road near the Panama Canal as we waited for Cuban refugees, who had escaped from their confinement, to emerge from the relentless green horror of the jungle.

I think we spent five days on the side of the road doing this.

Blacksburg, Virginia (1989)

From FB as written by New Mal:

“It can be said, without a doubt that 519 Major Bill was the most kick ass room in the entire dorm with its custom steel construction full length double loft bed, Denon amplifier powering two DCM TimeFrame 350 speakers and a 12′ Cerwin Vega subwoofer.

If you recall, we used to get complaints from the rooms on the first floor and we were on the fifth. Of course, there was the futon for ‘guests’ and don’t forget to note the Smith Corona word processor. I wish I had a picture of Pope or Jamie in the rocking chair drinking a Milwaukee’s Best.”

Marcus Aurelius

“When you wake up in the morning, tell yourself: The people I deal with today will be meddling, ungrateful, arrogant, dishonest, jealous and surly. They are like this because they cannot tell good from evil. But I have seen the beauty of good, and the ugliness of evil, and have recognized that the wrongdoer has a nature related to my own – not of the same blood or birth, but the same mind, and possessing a share of the divine. And so none of them can hurt me.”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started