Arlington, Virginia (2005)

Wearing my old battalion’s PT shirt during the Army 10 Miler.

I trained for it every weekday when I was in Moscow for a month, running four miles every day then working my way up to eight by the time I left.

I was really dedicated. I would get off of work, go up to my room in an FSB (Russian intelligence service) monitored hotel (The Golden Ring), change clothes, lace up my running shoes, and go for a run along the Moscow River. Autumn was well on its way in that part of the world and the temperatures were dry with highs in the 70s during the day and lows in the 50s at night. It was the best work trip I ever had and one of the most memorable experiences of my life.

The day of the race a month later the temperatures in Virginia were in the 90s.

They said it was one of the hottest race days on record.

Around mile eight I began to lose the feeling in my toes. Lots of runners were falling out to the side of the road from the excessive heat.

I finished but it wasn’t pretty.

Washington, DC (2021)

The Army officer in the middle of this photo is a Major General and the current Commanding General of the Military District of Washington, DC.

He was also my very first Platoon Leader in the 82nd.

He was extremely unpopular, but that’s a story for another day…

Empire Range, Panama (1995)

In December 1994, my battalion was on what’s called DRF-1 (Division Readiness Force 1). Under those conditions we had to be prepared to deploy anywhere in the world in 18 hours. We were all on two hour recall, which means that we weren’t allowed to drink on the weekends in case we got a telephone call telling us to be in the Company Assembly Area in two hours with our bags packed and ready to deploy.

Prior to assuming DRF-1, we all received a briefing in which we were notified of all the potential geopolitical situations that might cause us to be activated.

The briefing officer told us we had nothing to worry about and we’d be Stateside for Christmas.

Fast forward two weeks and we got emergency deployed when Cubans, fleeing Fidel Castro’s Communist paradise, were intercepted at sea and taken to New Jersey or Panama until the Clinton Administration could decide what to do with them.

When the Cubans later learned that President Clinton intended to return them back to the loving arms of the Castro Brothers, they engaged in a terrifying riot later dubbed the “Panama Rock Concert.”

(As an aside, I’m probably going to have to devote another post to that event, which actually had major implications on both U.S. foreign and military policy because it was a formative event for a young Army lieutenant named Jason Amerine, a remarkable man with whom I later corresponded and whose story I later used when I was teaching.)

In order to suppress the riot and ensure that no further violence towards U.S. military personnel took place, our battalion was deployed via private chartered aircraft. We landed at Howard Air Force Base a few weeks before Christmas 1994. (It would be my only overseas deployment despite my juvenile dreams of combat glory.)

We will fast forward this story to January or February 1995 when we were preparing to move the Cubans out of their camps and ship them back to Cuba.

We had been training on riot control techniques and had all been issued protective equipment, including face visors, plastic shields, and catcher’s shin guards, as well as black plastic batons. I was wearing my issued flak vest and we’d been told to cammo up our faces as an intimidation technique.

I’ll never forget shortly after we arrived, a Cuban saw us stroll into their camp and came up to a veteran soldier and in heavily accented English taunted, “Whatchu think you boys are going to do to us? You think you can scare us? Did you see what we did to your buddies last week?”

The paratrooper spat out a concise stream of Copenhagen dip from his mouth onto the ground in front of him, looked the Cuban square in the eye, and replied, “Yeah, but those were Air Force pussies you did that to. This here’s the 82nd Airborne. You try that shit with us and we’ll stick our boot up your collective asses.”

So, we were preparing to go into the Cubans’ camps and round them up and I put a bit of cammo under my eyes like a baseball player might because I thought it was comical that I was wearing these catcher shin guards. I also didn’t want to put the cammo on because I was already hot and sweaty and having paint on my face was going to make it even more miserable.

Then I asked someone to take this picture.

Shortly thereafter, our Battalion Commander, Lloyd Austin (recently nominated as President Joe Biden’s Secretary of Defense), saw me and in a low, gravely voice said, “Uh-uh, Airborne. Unacceptable. Get some more cammo on.”

I saluted and replied, “Roger that, sir.” And I went and got my face cammo’d.

Only time he ever directly spoke to me.

“Green Thoughts”

“After returning to the US, the band began work on Green Thoughts. Pat DiNizio: “Green Thoughts was written intuitively, from the gut. I found myself in a situation where I had to come up with virtually all the songs in a very short period of time. I had to lock myself in my apartment in New York City, take the phone off the hook, distance myself from every relationship I had, and set about the business of putting together bits of melodies, bits of lyrics and song titles into album form. Four weeks later I emerged from the apartment slightly crazed, but I did have an album under my belt.”

Lyrically, the album contains what Dave Simons, writing for Songwriter101.com, describes as “angst-filled odes to failed romance”. DiNizio: “I was always interested lyrically in the darker side of relationships. The lyrics on Green Thoughts, however, are not necessarily reflective of an unhappy state of mind in terms of my personal relationships while I was writing the album. If I were as troubled as a lot of the lyric imagery conveys, I’d be in a terrible mess personally.” Talking to Terry Gross on Fresh Air about songwriting, DiNizio said: “I’ve never really been into wordplay or being clever lyrically for the sake of being clever. It just doesn’t make any sense to me. I need the lyrics to have some sort of meaning that I can relate to on some sort of emotional level.”

“Dreamers Of The Day”

From FB (2018):

“Finished 27 books this year. This will be 28. (Possibly could get up to 29.) Regardless, I just learned from reading this one that the Great Ifluenza of 1918 killed between 20 to 50 million people worldwide, including 675,000 Americans. That’s nearly six times the total number of Americans who died in World War I – which ended that same year. Yet, until this day I was ignorant of that fact, as I am certain are 99% of most Americans.

Crazy.”

“The Hard Crowd”

“The camera moves on. It gets to the Woolworth’s at Powell and Market, where we used to steal makeup. On the other side of the street, out of view, is the enormous Emporium-Capwell, the emporium of our plunder, Guess and Calvin Klein, until, at least for me, I was caught, and formally arrested in the department store’s subbasement, which featured, to my surprise, police ready to book us and interrogation rooms, where they handcuffed you to a metal pole, there in the bowels of the store. I remember a female officer with a Polaroid camera. I would be banned from the store for life, she said. This was the least of my worries, and I found it funny. She took a photo to put in my file. I gave her a big smile. I remember the moment, me chained to the pole and her standing over me. As she waved the photo dry, I caught a glimpse and vainly thought that, for once, I looked pretty good. It’s always like that. You get full access to the bad and embarrassing photos, while the flattering one is out of reach. Who knows what happened to the photo, and my whole “dossier.” Banned for life. But the Emporium-Capwell is gone. I have outlived it!”

LINK

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started