Blacksburg, Virginia (1993)

This is a pretty incredible photograph of me.

As previously mentioned, I had been bitten by a rescue Doberman Retriever around Christmas 1992 and was now sporting some facial hair to hide the scars.

This is the main stairwell in the fraternity house.

I see this photograph as emblematic of me transitioning between the fantasy of the fraternity and the reality of the dog bite.

Dragon’s Tooth (1992)

This is Pope and Chris, my fraternity Big Brother.

After many years of retrospect, I realized this was the last time I did the “wild & crazy” things that I thought were inherent to my personality and way of living.

I thought I would always be climbing mountains.

I thought I would always be rapelling down cliff faces.

I was wrong.

These were the best of times.

And I didn’t even realize it.

Blacksburg, Virginia (1993)

So, my college girlfriend was a very highly regarded member of one of VT’s local sororities.

But she graduated the year before I graduated and it was apparently understood that I would maintain a healthy relationship with her sorority sisters while at the same time remaining in fidelity with her on a romantic level.

(You can see how this can get confusing.)

I was selected to be her sorority’s Derby Day coach and the main POC was a beautiful blonde Junior whom I spent quite a bit of time talking with and interacting with.

By the time actual Derby Day rolled around, it was clear to even the most obtuse person (that would be me) that she really liked me and wanted to spend time with me.

I thought (at the time) that we were just “friendly” because I was so paranoid about fucking things up with her senior sorority sister.

In retrospect, it was doomed from the start,

Sorority sisters don’t fuck around with the boyfriends of older alums.

But the sexual and romantic tension was there for sure. And she and I both knew it. Even if we didn’t act on it.

(In case you can’t tell, both girls are sitting on my lap. Their idea, not mine.)

London, United Kingdom (1991)

I look at this photo and I see a bunch of Betas holding hands and acting like quasi-queers.

It is no wonder I blew through their world and shook them all up.

Jamie was very much the same way, but at least he was more than willing to go with the flow.

I wasn’t. I didn’t care.

I did what I wanted to do and didn’t give a shit about the consequences.

I was like an M-80 for these supposedly refined Euro-Trash kids.

At the same time, looking back at this photo I realize I was nearing the height of my physical pulchritudinousness….

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started