“Groundhog Day”

“The original idea for Groundhog Day came to writer Danny Rubin in 1990. He had moved to Los Angeles to work as a screenwriter. While waiting in a theater for a film to start, he was reading the book The Vampire Lestat (1985) by Anne Rice. Rubin began musing about vampiric immortality and what one would do with their time if it was limitless. He reasoned that vampires were like normal people without being forced to adhere to the same rules or moral boundaries. He questioned if and when it would become boring or pointless, and how a person would change over time, especially if that person was incapable of substantial change within their own limited mortal life. He singled out men he deemed to be in arrested development, who could not outlive their adolescence.

Having recently sold his first script for what would become the thriller film Hear No Evil (1993), his agent prompted him to develop a “calling-card” script that he could use to gain meetings with producers. Rubin began work on his idea of a man changing over eternal life but quickly realized that the idea was impractical because of the expense of depicting historical and future events. At this point, Rubin recalled a brief story concept he had written two years earlier that followed a man who would wake every morning to find it was the same day repeating. Rubin married the two ideas to create the outline for Groundhog Day. By portraying eternity as a repeating cycle instead of a straight line through history he eliminated the production cost of constantly changing settings. He believed that the repetition also offered him more dramatic and comedic possibilities.

Rubin opened a calendar and picked the next nearest holiday, February 2, the eponymous Groundhog Day. He saw it as a date with story potential because it was a recognized holiday without much widespread attention. Rubin believed that people held a vague awareness of the holiday using a groundhog to predict changing seasons. Even so, he believed few people outside of the state of Pennsylvania were aware that the actual festival takes place in the small town of Punxsutawney, something which he became aware of through a writing job for a local phone company. Setting the story in Punxsutawney provided a small area in which to trap Phil Connors, while reporting on the event gave the character a reason to visit. Rubin took the main character’s name from Punxsutawney Phil. He hoped that the film could become a perennial holiday favorite like It’s a Wonderful Life (1946) and A Charlie Brown Christmas (1965).”

“Xanadu”

After futzing around with it for a while, a couple of years ago I decided what I wanted placed on my tombstone.

Obviously, I want the important stuff listed, to include my relationship with my wife, mention of my children, date of birth, date of death, etc.

But I’ve always wanted something a bit humorous, thoughtful, and subversive.

Recently, I told my middle child of my true heart’s desire.

I don’t think she believes I’m serious, but I totally am.

Somewhere on my final resting place, I want these words:

For I have dined on honey dew
And drunk the milk of Paradise…”

Bear witness.

LINK

Hamm’s

We were visiting my Mother’s Mother and Brothers in Garden Plain, KS circa 1980 or so.

My Dad was in a folding chair facing the wheat field looking west at the sunset across the endless plain.

My brothers and I were running around playing with my three female cousins.

Being of hearty German stock, all of the Rausch brothers (Dan, Dale, and Larry) were pretty big beer drinkers and they were always pulling my more circumspect, bespectacled, and college educated Father along in a manner somewhat like fraternity brothers towards a younger pledge.

I was standing behind my Dad’s nylon strapped chair when he lifted a silver and blue aluminum can towards me and asked, “Do you want a sip?”

I did. It tasted sour and sweet and fizzy.

All of my uncles laughed.

I don’t know if it actually happened this way, but this is the way I remember it.

St. Blasius Day

“February 3rd is the feast day of St. Blaise (or Blasius), patron saint of wool combers.

He is generally represented as bishop of Sebaste in Armenia and as having suffered martyrdom in the persecution of Licinius in 316 AD.

The fact of iron combs having been used in tearing the flesh of the martyr appears as the sole reason for his having been adopted by the wool combers as their patron saint.

Large flowering communities of wool combers engaged in this business in many small English towns and led to their holding jubilees on the 3rd of February in honor of Jason of the Golden Fleece and of St. Blasius.”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started