“No Country For Old Men”

“I sent one boy to the gas chamber at Huntsville. One and only one. My arrest and my testimony.

I went up there and visited with him two or three times. Three times. The last time
was the day of his execution. I didn’t have to go but I did. I sure didn’t want to.

He’d killed a fourteen year old girl and I can tell you right now I never did have no great desire to visit with him let alone go to his execution but I done it. The papers said it was a crime of passion and he told me there wasn’t no passion to it. He’d been datin’ this girl, young as she was. He was nineteen. And he told me that he had been plannin’ to kill somebody for about as long as he could remember. Said that if they turned him out he’d do it again. Said he knew he was goin’ to Hell. Told it to me out of his own mouth.

I don’t know what to make of that. I surely don’t…”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started