Moscow, Russia (2005)

I did a 30 day TDY in Moscow while working in DS’ Counterintelligence Branch and it was the single best overseas travel experience I ever had and ever will have.

I felt (at the time) I was doing important work, I was working with a great group of young and fun colleagues, I was living in a decent hotel in the center of the city on Uncle Sam’s dime, and I was going out every evening after work to run four to eight miles in preparation for the upcoming Army 10 Miler in October.

After I did my evening run and grabbed something to eat, I’d usually retire to my hotel room to play City Of Heroes for several hours before going to bed.

Of course, the avatar I created was essentially myself….

Oahu, Hawaii (2005)

My former best friend from the Army, Chris, was at Schofield Barracks as a helicopter pilot with the 25th Infantry Division.

We decided to go see him and his wife, and we stayed in an amazing resort on the North Shore.

My father served at both Barbers Point and Ford Island during a Korean War era enlistment with the Navy.

Because of his Cherokee heritage, he was so dark they called him “Island Boy” or “Waipahu Joe.”

When Cameron Was In Egypt Land

“I am not going to sit on my ass as the events that affect me unfold to determine the course of my life. I’m going to take a stand. I’m going to defend it. Right or wrong, I’m going to defend it.”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started