The Golden Isles, Georgia (2016)

From FB:

“Coming out of the Winn Dixie wearing my Virginia Tech visor, I saw a brand new white BMW convertible parked in a handicapped spot. A very wealthy looking woman was sitting in the passenger’s seat dressed in all of her finery staring at me. I walked with Jimmy and Naomi to our blue Hyundai mini-van parked several spots away from the entrance and unloaded our groceries. Taking the empty cart and properly putting it back in front of the store, I saw the white convertible’s driver getting in without any apparent difficulties. I also saw his Georgia license plate, which bore the unmistakable stylized maroon “VT” associated with my Alma Mater. I was looking to see if he had a handicapped tag hanging from his mirror or something that I missed when he saw my visor and gave me a big smile.

“Hey!” he said. I ignored him. He tried again. “Go, Hokies! I’m a Hokie, too.”

Not being able to control myself, I gave him a deadpan look and said, “Are you a handicapped Hokie?” “Huh?” he said looking at me quizzically.” I repeated myself. “ARE YOU A HANDICAPPED HOKIE?” He still didn’t seem to understand. “Uh, no,” he said.

In a completely deadpan, expressionless manner, I asked, “Well, then why are you parked in a handicapped spot?” I didn’t stick around for an answer, but it was clear from the change of his expression that this wasn’t the alumni greeting he was expecting when he spotted me. It took him about five seconds for him to think of a retort when I heard him yell, “I was just running in to get something!”

I might have shouted back, “You’re the type of person who gives Virginia Tech a bad name.” Or something…”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started