“E.T.I.”

“I’m in fairy rings and tower beds
‘Don’t report this,’ three men said


Books by the blameless and by the dead
The King in Yellow and the Queen in Red…”

Vienna, Virginia (2011)

From FB:

“Rode out to the intersection of the W&OD trail and Hunters Mill Road – ’bout 4 miles out, 4 back, high humidity, 90+ degrees. Jimbo was in the trailer and handled it like a champ.”

“Not Taco Bell Material”

“People ask me all the time, ‘Why did you do all that shit work? You’re intelligent, you’re capable. Why did you chose to clean carpets and dig ditches?’

It was a perfect shitstorm of low self-esteem, an apathetic family, and higher unemployment than even in today’s economy. I saw a news report last year that said we had the highest unemployment since 1983 and I thought, Yep, that’s why I was digging ditches in ’84.

So when my preachy pampered lefty friends tell me white people won’t do certain jobs, I say this honkey begs to differ.

I did tons of dirty, dangerous, low paying shit work alongside Guatemalans, Mexicans, El Salvadorans, blacks, and whites of all sizes and shapes. The only thing we had in common was poverty.

When you say white people won’t dig ditches or mow lawns, you’re basing that on the educated gay couple with the frosted tips you just finished brunch with. Not me…”

– Adam Carolla

The Golden Isles, Georgia (2016)

From FB:

“My Every Day Carry (EDC).

Though I don’t frequent gay nightclubs (anymore), I’m pretty confident today’s newspapers would read a little differently if more people opened themselves up to what a very brilliant man once wrote:

‘If trouble seems to come when you least expect it then maybe the thing to do is always expect it…'”

(That would be Cormac McCarthy from “The Road.”)

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started