Paris, France (2005)

“But, Jay Bobb. Your goatee could not have been THAT hideous. Surely you’re exaggerating?”

Nope. It even got worse than this.

This is me at the top of the Eiffel Tower.

Amazing views.

Monstrous facial hair.

Paris, France (2005)

This was our first night in town. The Secretary came the following day.

We were on our way (at my idea and instigation) to taking a 2.5 hour boat trip down the Seine.

I thought it would be a good chance to drink in Paris’ culture.

But they had no booze. And it was boring.

So an hour in, I laid down on a wooden bench and slept through it.

As soon as it was over, I left my companions behind and quickly stalked over to the hotel bar and tried to drink as much and as quickly as I could before they closed.

My current work husband is the guy second from the right with the beard. All of his hair has since turned gray.

Personally, I am very fortunate mine as my hair is 99% brown, though I know that day is coming soon.

(I will deal with it with my typical grace.)

The girl in the middle is married to my current supervisor. She saved my ass at the Foreign Service Institute where I became acquainted with woke snowflake culture. And that was 2009.

That leaves the other two dudes in the picture.

The day after this photo was taken, we all went out to dinner. When it was time to pay the tab, one of these guys claimed to have forgotten to bring his wallet, but fulsomely promised to pay us back the following day.

Never heard from him again.

Paris, France (2005)

On a trip protecting the Secretary with my post-Afghanistan hideous goatee.

We also went to Ankara, Turkey. Was early in the year so it was cold at the Northern Latitudes.

If I wanted to, my life could have always been like that – staying in five star hotels, jaunting around the world, never seeing my wife or kids.

Was fun while it lasted but I’m too much of a homebody.

And I happen to like my family. A lot.

Holcomb, Kansas (2020)

From FB:

“The former home of Herb Clutter, his wife Bonnie, and their children Nancy (16) and Kenyon (15), whom Hickock and Smith murdered after entering the house through an unlocked door while the family slept. The two killers left them crime scene with a small portable radio, a pair of binoculars, and less than $50 cash.

Truman Capote immortalized the crime in his non-fiction novel “In Cold Blood.”

Holcomb, Kansas (2020)

From FB:

“Down this quiet dusty lane on the outskirts of the small farming community of Holcomb, Kansas once traveled two paroled felons named Richard Hickock and Perry Smith who had been told by a former cellmate that the owner of the house at the end of the lane kept large amounts of cash in a safe…”

Ingalls, Kansas (2020)

From FB:

“Like the Rausch Family (my mother’s side), Laura Ingalls Wilder’s family first traveled to Kansas from Wisconsin. The town is named for John James Ingalls, who was a U.S. Senator and suggested the Kansas state motto and designed the state seal. He was a second cousin to Laura Ingalls’ family.”

Middle Of Nowhere, Kansas (2020)

From FB:


“As the trip to the Clutter Farm was a bit out of the way, I had to start making my way back to the main roads. I didn’t realize it would involve driving 15 miles down a dusty dirt road that instantly coated the inside of the RV with a fine brown talcum powder. Kids and and wife were not happy. I started giggling because the entire scenario seemed so absurd.”

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started