Fort Polk, Louisiana (1996)

Me and Sergeant Jarvi right before we got notionally killed by the Opposition Force (OPFOR).

He didn’t like having his picture taken, but I insisted.

He was from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and was the first person to tell me what a Yooper was.

The Golden Isles, Georgia (2018)

This was another moment when my wife and kids went out of town and I had time on my hands and got a wild hair up my ass.

In this case, it was the idea to take the tandem-sit-on-top ocean kayak I’d bought from some widow in Jessup for $200 out from St. Simons to Jekyll Island – a distance of only a couple of miles based upon Google Maps.

That turned out to be in error.

Regardless of how far it actually was, I had completely failed to factor in what it would be like to be sitting there on a piece of shit kayak with no sidewalls to hold me in while I bobbed up and down on the ocean.

I had enough grit and determination to paddle my ass out several hundred yards to the first buoys marking the shipping channel between the two islands, but anything further would have been insane.

Regardless, I decided to snap a picture to commemorate the moment.

And as I fumbled with my iPhone on the constantly churning ocean waves, the only thought I had was, “When they find my drowned corpse they’ll see that the last picture on my phone was a selfie…”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started