March 1, 2022

From FB:

“March, the third month of the year, takes its place from Mars (Latin “Martius”), the god of war – this is the month when military campaigns generally began after the end of winter. In the early Roman calendar it was the first month of the year.

‘I Martius am! Once first, and now the third!

To lead the Year was my appointed place;

A mortal dispossessed me by a word,

And set there Janus with the double face.

Hence I make war on all the human race;

I shake the cities with my hurricanes;

I flood the rivers and their banks efface,

And drown the farms and hamlets with my rains.’

– Henry Wadsworth Longfellow ‘The Poet’s Calendar’

It is often regarded as the first month of Spring, but astronomically straddles the seasons with the first 20 days belonging to winter.

‘Lide’ – an early name for March – is derived from the Old English ‘Hlyda’ which referred to the loudness of the wind in this month. The Anglo-Saxons named it ‘Lenetmonath,’ which refers to the lengthening of the days and is also related to the words ‘Lenten’ and ‘Lent.’

All in all, March is often not a pleasant month, as Garrison Keillor once remarked:

‘March is the month that God designed to show those who don’t drink what a hangover is like.'”

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started