Blacksburg, Virginia (1991)

This is a photo of Jamie and a kid named Eric T. sitting in my Major Bill dorm room.

After living a year with New Mal, I knew I wanted to stay in Major Bill, but also knew there were rooms infinitely more spacious than that tiny crevice.

I spotted my future room pretty early on, and made a concerted effort to court it.

As a rising Sophomore, I knew I had an advantage, and it pretty much boiled down to what poor Freshman they’d pair me up with.

Unfortunately for him, it was some rube from Catawba, VA.

He was a nice kid, but at that point it was the equivalent of throwing a Christian into the lion’s den.

He had not idea what he was in for. He had no idea what his meathead roommate would actually be like.

I didn’t stay in touch with him after that year and from what I remember, one year at VT (and me) was enough for him and he went back to to the hick town from which he came.

If you look closely at the picture, you can see my “Sonic Temple” poster in the upper left, followed by two from “A Clockwork Orange.”

There is a carousel of cassette tapes above Jamie’s head and he’s drinking a Milwaukee’s Best.

This was clearly movie night as we’d regularly go down to the local video store and rent two movies, before retiring to a dorm room to drink beer and watch them on the VHS machine.

Kids today would have no idea what one one them actually was.

How amazing…

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started