Ragnar Lodbrok

“Ragnar Lodbrok was a legendary Norse Viking hero who distinguished himself by many raids against the British Isles and the Holy Roman Empire during the 9th Century CE. Despite being warned against sailing to England, Lothbrok made the voyage and was shipwrecked off the Northumbrian coast (Northern England and Southeast Scotland). On hearing the news, King Aelle of Northumbria immediately marched, defeated the Viking army, and took Ragnar prisoner, whereupon he threw Lodbrok into a pit full of venomous snakes.

His death song expresses an unwavering faith in the afterlife:

“The Disir (ghosts or spirits associated with fate) call me back home, those whom Odin has sent for me, from the halls of the Lord of Hosts. Gladly will I sup ale in the high seat with the gods. The days of my life are finished. I laugh as I die!”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started